I’ll still love you..

Two year old child of mine, who is quite rapidly approaching three…

I’ll still love you..

Even on the days when all you do is scream daddy at me because nothing I do is right in your eyes. Just for reference, I do have some experience at putting clothes on children.

When you are sick, tantruming, and throwing up on everything that I’ve already washed twice. At least I love the smell of clean laundry.

When you throw yourself down on the floor in the middle of the toy aisle and scream bloody murder while pretty much everyone passing by is sure to think I’m the worst mother in the world. And no.. you still may not have the toy.

When every word out of your mouth is “NO MOMMY!” or “Don’t touch me!”

When you single handedly make a disastrous mess in the seconds before we have guests arriving.

When I’m scrubbing crayon off the wall, vacuuming an entire bottle of baby powder off the floor, or cleaning the flooded bathroom.

When you wake up at 5 am and decide it’s time to play. I’ll also put you right back in your bed.

When you announce to the entire store that you have one very clear sentence. “That’s wine. It’s mommy’s drink.”

When you will give the cat ten minutes of hugs and kisses and all I get is a head shake and you rapidly running away.

Even when I have my head buried in my hands, silently saying over and over again that this is just a phase because the thought of dealing with one more of your tantrums is too much.. yes, I’ll still love you then.

Someday, dear child, you’ll learn that loving someone or something doesn’t mean that you always like what they are doing or putting you through. And I’ll be there, silently hoping (maybe not even silently) that I’ll be able to say at least once, “Oh, hmm.. your child is behaving exactly like you did at that age. Don’t worry, it gets worse before it gets better.” Even then, I’ll still love you. 

DSC01944

Tags: , , , ,

About J.Peterson

By day, I'm a mom of two boys (three if you count my husband) and a childcare provider. My adventures in parenting and the real world are primarily what this blog is about. My alternate ego, the one who is in my book(s), is a scythe bearing, magnificent shoe wearing, Soul Harvester by the name of Genesis. Though she knows nothing about parenting, her sarcasm rivals even my own. If you enjoy my blog, check her out on Amazon under the title of Death Inc. The life and Times of a Soul Harvester. http://www.amazon.com/Death-Reaper-Harvester-Incorporated-ebook/dp/B0060ZO82K/ref=pd_rhf_gw_p_t_2_77ZB

Leave a comment